top of page

Regina Wielingen Workshop


Regina Originally from The Netherlands Regina started her studies at the Jazz Department of The Theatre School in Amsterdam and completed her training at The Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance in London. Since then she has worked as a freelance dancer working with artists such as Bill T. Jones in New York as well as a teacher, choreographer and rehearsal director most recently staging Itzik Galili's 'A Linha Curva'.

Enjoying her career as a dancer Regina always understood that her real passion lies with teaching, choreographing and rehearsing dance. She loves witnessing the growth of the artists she works with and is very dedicated to helping them reach their full potential. Out of this desire The Audition Workshop (TAW) was born. TAW is a workshop where dancers learn how to prepare themselves and make the most out of any audition scenario.

The workshop commenced at 9:30 am, starting with a warm up which primarily focused on spine articulation, rolling through the spine and how the placement of our body can initiate this movement. The importance of the knowing, and being aware of the space around our bodies whilst curving, opening and stretching was evident, in all of the exercises we took part in. Regina had instructed us to move around the whole space. Exercises included walking, sliding and running.

After our warm-up, we got a ten minute break and then we started learning a floor phrase with Regina which focused on the way we moved in the space and our spine articulation. Then we began learning a jumping routine whilst travelling. After those two phrases we learnt a phrase which would be used in the piece for the first years. Our next task after lunch was to choreograph a solo using our mobile number. We had to use our mobile number to create movement, where every number would be showcased as a movement. For the last hour of the workshop, we worked as a company with Regina to create a short piece of choreography.

Evaluation

What went well?

I was able to respond positively to the feedback received from Regina in terms of spine articulation and body movements. I was successfully able to embody the corrections given by Regina and also continue to do so throughout the workshop. Personally, I felt that I performed the best during the technique classes.

What was challenging?

I had returned to dancing for the first time after my ligament injury and therefore, I had to be careful with the choreography and the movement I perform as I could not risk getting injured during the final term of college. Also, at times, I found Regina too fast paced in terms of tea0ching and therefore, I could not fully concentrate on the workshop as I found it difficult to follow her.

Targets/Improvement

My target for the next time I am in a workshop, would be that I should be confident enough to raise my hand and ask questions, also that I want to be able to follow and pick up from the choreographer at any given point.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page